I still see you daily. Thank you Lord.

wpid-20150609_173125.jpgFinding dear friends faces in a stranger’s face.

Most people don’t just up and move across the country and leave their friends and family at the age of 46.  But what a tremendous experience it’s been!

Almost daily,  I get a beautiful feeling or thought. Seeing you in another person.

The gift from God is that I get to relive moments and memories of my dear friends daily. There are people who I see today and it will remind me of a moment in time or a funny story. These moments are heartfelt and touching as if not even a day has gone by since I’ve seen you.

I could honestly say that daily I see someone who reminds me of you.

A funny story or even just a smile leads to a wonderful connection to a time gone by.

How can these experiences be anything but from God?

It’s as if,  He wants me to think of you or pray for you at that very moment.

Sure, I miss you but Im ok today. Because I have you deep within my heart. I remember the good times and the rough ones too! The smiles amd the tears. The pain and the sorrow.  Moments that define a friendship . These are the very foundation of a life lived among friends.

A shared experience, a quiet moment or a loud, roaring laugh! Between a laugh and a tear. The sweet spot you might say.

I know your secrets. These Secrets still stored safely away, I’ll  take them to the grave with a personal knowledge of the fears that go with those secrets because I’ve done the same stuff, more times and worse.

Dreams fulfilled and knowing what you dreamed of and how hard it was to believe them at that time.

Yea, I get it. Probably better than you do.  It’s , I suppose easier for me to see the arch of your life because I was watching, listening, paying attention and hoping and praying the whole time. I think I might remember your thoughts and experiences better than you do. Because you shared them with me and I was listening.

Today, I thought of you, Warmly with a smile written across my heart and sealed with love.

I can only thank my God for these revelations, very small moments in time, forever written on my heart.

I think I  understand this verse a little bit better  today.
Philippians 1:3-4, 7-11 NIV

I thank my God every time I remember you. In all my prayers for all of you, I always pray with joy It is right for me to feel this way about all of you, since I have you in my heart and, whether I am in chains or defending and confirming the gospel, all of you share in God’s grace with me. God can testify how I long for all of you with the affection of Christ Jesus.   And this is my prayer: that your love may abound more and more in knowledge and depth of insight, so that you may be able to discern what is best and may be pure and blameless for the day of Christ, filled with the fruit of righteousness that comes through Jesus Christ—to the glory and praise of God.

2 Responses to “I still see you daily. Thank you Lord.”

  1. mimi cox Says:

    I love you Robert. Ed and I both miss you. We are happy you and Laura are living in a wonderful place. You’re an excellent writer too!
    Keep writing and I’ll keep reading.
    Margaret

Leave a Reply

